



# CALL FOR APPLICATIONS

## **Announcing the AACR Global Scholar-in-Training Awards**

The AACR Global Scholar-in-Training Awards are available to eligible early-career investigators in low- and middle-income economy countries to support their attendance at the 2019 AACR Annual Meeting. Building upon the success of the AACR African Cancer Researchers Travel Awards, the AACR has expanded this award program for 2019 to provide funding to meritorious investigators from across the globe to attend and benefit from the cutting-edge cancer science presented at the AACR Annual Meeting. These travel awards include complimentary registration and housing to the Annual Meeting, and up to US\$2,000 towards the costs of meals and travel to Atlanta, Georgia. Following the conclusion of the Annual Meeting, award recipients also will have the opportunity to participate in a special networking event and tour state-of-theart laboratory facilities at a leading academic institution.

#### **ELIGIBILITY:**

- Applicants must be citizens or permanent residents of a country designated by the World Bank as a low-, lower-middle, or uppermiddle income economy (LMIC). Candidates must reside in the country to be eligible for this award. Researchers who are citizens or permanent residents of a LMIC, but currently employed or pursuing training in a country outside of a LMIC are not eligible.
- Applicants must be the first author and presenter of an abstract submitted for presentation at the AACR Annual Meeting.
- Applicants must be full-time graduate students currently engaged in doctoral research, residents, clinical or postdoctoral fellows, or early-career investigators (within 10 years of doctoral-level degree conferral at the time of application).
- Applicants must be proficient in English (writing and speaking).
- Applicants cannot be employees or subcontractors of for-profit private industry.
- Applicants are not required to be members of the AACR to apply for this award.
- Applicants may apply for other travel awards, but may not receive more than one award from the AACR to attend the Annual Meeting.

Abstract Submission Deadline: November 15, 2018

**Application Deadline:** November 15, 2018

**Award Notification:** Early January 2019

AACR Annual Meeting: March 29-April 3, 2019

**HOW TO APPLY:** Please visit **AACR.org/GSITA** 

for instructions on how to apply.

INQUIRIES: internationaltravelawards@aacr.org



# ANNUAL MEETING 2019 W ATLANTA

MARCH 29-APRIL 3
Georgia World Congress Center



## **World Bank-designated LMI Countries**

- Afghanistan
- Albania
- Algeria
- · American Samoa
- Angola
- Armenia
- Azerbaijan
- Bangladesh
- Belarus
- Belize
- Benin
- Bhutan
- Bolivia
- · Bosnia and Herzegovina
- Botswana
- Brazil
- Bulgaria
- Burkina Faso
- Burundi
- Cabo Verde
- Cambodia
- Cameroon
- · Central African Republic
- Chad
- China
- Colombia
- Comoros
- Democratic Republic of the Congo
- · Republic of the Congo
- · Costa Rica
- · Cote D'Ivoire
- Cuba
- · Djibouti
- · Dominica

- Dominican Republic
- Ecuador
- Egypt
- El Salvador
- · Equatorial Guinea
- Eritrea
- Ethiopia
- Fiji
- Gabon
- The Gambia
- Georgia
- Ghana
- Grenada
- Guatemala
- Guinea
- · Guinea-Bissau
- Guyana
- Haiti
- Honduras
- India
- Indonesia
- Iran
- Iraq
- Jamaica
- Jordan
- Kazakhstan
- Kenva
- Kiribati
- Korea
- Kosovo
- · Kyrgyz Republic
- Laos
- Lebanon
- Lesotho
- Liberia

- Libya
- Macedonia
- Madagascar
- Malawi
- Malaysia
- Maldives
- Mali
- Marshall Islands
- Mauritania
- Mauritius
- Mexico
- Micronesia
- Moldova
- Mongolia
- Montenegro
- Morocco
- Mozambique
- Myanmar
- Namibia
- Nauru
- Nepal
- Nicaragua
- Niger
- Nigeria
- 5.1...
- Pakistan
- Papua New Guinea
- Paraguay
- Peru
- Philippines
- Romania
- Russia
- Rwanda
- Samoa
- São Tomé and Principe
- Senegal

- Serbia
- · Sierra Leone
- Solomon Islands
- Somalia
- South Africa
- South Sudan
- Sri Lanka
- · St. Lucia
- St. Vincent and the Grenadines
- Sudan
- Suriname
- Swaziland
- Syria
- Tajikstan
- Tanzania
- Thailand
- Timor-Leste
- Togo
- Tonga
- Tunisia
- Turkey
- Turkmenistan
- Tuvalu
- Uganda
- Ukraine
- Uzbekistan
- VanuatuVenezuela
- Vietnam
- West Bank and Gaza
- Yemen
- Zambia
- Zimbabwe